A Love So Lost

PoetryNLife

The past crept up behind me and landed on my shoulder,
a heavy weight like a huge iceberg too big to lift. Its heaviness has me mired down
and I keep sinking in this mud that makes my feet feel glued to the earth crushing my feet.
When I saw you I froze; my first feeling was complete fear;
fear washed over me from the top of my head, to the bottom
of my feet. That feeling of dread ran through me, like I was
attached to an electrical current and couldn’t let go
Beads of sweat formed on my forehead like droplets of rain,
and my heart flipped, pounding in my chest, like a cadence of drum beats
announcing my doom. The memories of the brutality
Of our union stopped me where I stood.
Conflicted and confused… like the fog blinding me to see.
The sight of you sickens…

View original post 90 more words

Leave a Reply

