Letting Go

shadows of the past invade me,
unable to lift this burden
that has weighted me down

sifting through the chaos
of memories
thoughts of joy give way
to smiles on my face;
and thoughts of sadness
that bring heaviness
to my heart

those shadows remain
only at my urging without
release
the refusal of my inner
being to give them rest
keeps them circulating

the internal battle
rages to give me rest
from the struggle
to hold on or to let
go

 

Image from Agora Gallery

One thought on “Letting Go

Leave a Reply

